The Bullet Pen

Home » BOOKS



The Bullet Pen book reviews are for accessible, short books that take ideas seriously. They are animated by hope, committed to equality and the development of Africa and the globe, and they elude socio-economic and political categories.The editors of these books reviews clearly aim to establish a public space in which people can loosen the hold of conventional preconceptions and

start to reason together across the lines others are so busily drawing. If you have read a book you like that touched your heart, then in a few lines summarize what it was about and we shall be glad and ensure your name is published on our worthy magazine.


Wole Soyinka’s latest book tackles racism and African development.

Funke Osae Brown

Nobel Laureate Wole Soyinka is a writer whose works have transcended different races. His works were at the forefront of post-colonial emancipation in Africa. It is not a surprise therefore that his latest book, a collection of essays, Harmattan Haze on an African Springreleased on Tuesday at Terra Kulture, Victoria Island, Lagos, focuses on Africa’s post colonial experience in the new millennium…read more.


Martin’s Big Words: The Life of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr

By Doreen Rappaport, illustrations by Brian Collier.

MLKDay.5 Great Books for Celebrating Martin Luther King Day

Belle, the Last Mule at Gee’s Bend.

By Calvin Alexander Ramsey and Bettye Stroud, illustrations by John Holyfield.

MLKDay.4 Great Books for Celebrating Martin Luther King Day

My Uncle Martin’s Words for America. 

By Angela Farris Watkins, illustrations by Eric Velasquez. Abrams. 2011.

MLKDay.6 Great Books for Celebrating Martin Luther King Day

Jacqueline Woodson’s ‘Each Kindness’ Wins 2013 Charlotte Zolotow Award

 The Cooperative Children’s Book Center has awarded Each Kindness, written by Jacqueline Woodson and illustrated by E. B. Lewis, its Charlotte Zolotow Award for outstanding writing in a picture book. The 2013 Zolotow committee also named Flabbersmashed About You, Me and Momma and Big John, and Sleep Like a Tiger as Honor Books. The awards will be presented on April 6, 2013.


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: